apartment tour

first post!!!

two weeks in to my move to italy- i am finally writing my first post. i am excited to announce that i am beginning to settle in! i will try to briefly recall my last two weeks in this post… following today’s blog, i will try (key word TRY) to post daily.

IMG_2728

last family photo 😦

i said bye to my family on august 21. i flew from JFK to rome that night and arrived in florence shortly after. we rushed to the baggage claim and anxiously awaited our belongings, joking about how horrific it would be if we lost our luggage. 15 minutes passed by… then 30… yup… i lost my luggage. luckily, i had packed all i needed for my five-day orientation in tuscania (a small town/three hour bus ride from florence). the six of us “luggage-less” travelers finally made it to the bus and joined the other forty some kids and off we went to orientation.

om palace hotel

our journey to tuscania and the night of arrival was a complete blur. we arrived around ten pm and split up into three different hotels, where we immediately went to bed. i stayed at a place called OM Palace.

it was so clean and peaceful! i’ve attached a photo. we had a few days of group work where we were able to meet everyone in the program and bond as a group.

here i began my friendship with my roommate alexa, love her so much!!!!

lex and i!

lex and i!

we had a few italian classes and a cooking class through orientation. we made a yummy asparagus pancetta pasta with homemade linguine (the teacher prepared me gluten free pasta, don’t worry mom!) the night before we left we went to this amazing pizza place called Da Pulcinella (the picture is on my travel instagram markingmymap, i ate about 3/4 of it- also gluten free mom).

i am excited to share my experiences here through this blog. like i said, i will be trying to post often, so stay tuned!

xo micaela